

PRESS RELEASE

BETTER FINANCE ANNOUNCES ITS FIRST SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Brussels, 22 March 2019 - BETTER FINANCE is honoured to announce the establishment of the BETTER FINANCE Scientific Committee to further support and strengthen its research activities. The Scientific Committee consists of highly skilled and experienced independent academics who will help us to deliver high quality research for financial services users, other stakeholders and policy makers.

BETTER FINANCE has appointed its first members as follow (alphabetic order):

Prof. Dr. Vilhjálmur Bjarnason (Iceland)

Prof. Pierre-Henri Conac (Luxembourg)

Prof. Niamh Moloney (Ireland)

Prof. Dr. Jan Sebo (Slovakia)

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Veil (Germany)

Mr. Nicolas Véron (USA /EU)

The Scientific Committee will advise and support in areas where BETTER FINANCE has identified knowledge gaps. As underlined by the Managing Director of BETTER FINANCE, Guillaume Prache: "BETTER FINANCE's experience shows the need for more independent research in financial services to provide a sound and unbiased basis for financial policy recommendations. This is reflected in BETTER FINANCE's Scientific Committee, as many of its members also have extended experience in EU advisory bodies on financial services policy."

BETTER FINANCE acts as an independent financial expertise centre to the direct benefit of European financial services users (shareholders, other investors, savers, pension fund participants, life insurance, policy holders, borrowers, etc.) and other stakeholders of European financial services who are independent from the financial industry. BETTER FINANCE activities are supported by the European Union since 2012.

Information on the appointed members of the Scientific Committee can be found on the next page.



BETTER FINANCE SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE MEMBERS

(AS OF FEBRUARY 2019)



Vilhjálmur Bjarnason is adjunct professor and assistant professor at the University of Iceland, Faculty of Economics and Business administration/ School of Business, with a specialisation in Finance, Financial markets and Business Ethics. Since 2013, Vilhjálmur Bjarnason is an elected member of *Alþingi* the National Parliament of Iceland for the Southwest Constituency. He is member of the Economic Affairs and Trade Committee, the Foreign Affairs Committee, the Icelandic Delegation to the EFTA and EEA Parliamentary Committees, and the EU-Iceland joint Parliamentary Committee.



Pierre-Henri Conac is Professor of Financial Market Law at the University of Luxembourg where he founded the Master in European Banking and International Financial Law (LL.M.). Pierre-Henri Conac is the author of the Regulation on Securities Markets of the French Commission (COB) and the US Security and Exchange Commission (SEC). He was involved in policy making around company law, banking and financial law at EU level and at national level. In addition, Pierre-Henri Conac is a former member of the ESMA- Securities and Markets Stakeholders Group (SMSG).



Niamh Moloney is Professor of Financial Markets Law at the London School of Economics and Political Science. She specialises in financial market regulation and financial consumer protection. Niamh Moloney has published a large number of articles in this area, including a book (*How to Protect Investors: Lessons from the EU and the UK*, Cambridge University Press) on financial consumer protection. She was a member and then Chair of the Central Bank of Ireland's Consumer Advisory Group; a member of ESMA's Stakeholder Group; and a member of the UK FCA's Consumer Panel. Currently, she is a member of the board of the Central Bank of Ireland.



Jan Sebo is vice-dean and associate professor at the Matej Bel University (Faculty of Economics) in Slovakia, with a specialisation in Pension Finance, Pension Economics, Investing and Savings, Public Finance and Regulatory Policy. He is researcher at the Institute of Savings and Investment, and consultant for the University FinTech spin-off at the Finance and Policy Research Centre regarding finance research and FinTech services development and regulation. In addition, he is a former member of the Occupational Pension Stakeholders Group (OPSG) at EIOPA and present member of the Financial Services User Group (FSUG) at the European Commission.



Rüdiger Veil holds the Chair for Civil Law and Business Law at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich. His main research areas are European corporate law and capital markets law. Rüdiger Veil has published numerous books, inter alia on "European Capital Markets Law", and articles in top ranked journals, particularly from a comparative perspective. Since 2012, he has been a member of an academic working group advising the German Federal Ministry of Finance with regard to EU financial market reforms. In addition, Rüdiger Veil has been a member of the ESMA Securities and Markets Stakeholders Group (SMSG); from 2016-2018, he was Chair of the Group. Rüdiger Veil has acted as an expert for the German, European, Chinese and Russian parliament.



Nicolas Véron is a senior fellow at Bruegel in Brussels and at the Peterson Institute for International Economics in Washington, DC. His research is mostly focused on financial systems and financial reform around the world, including global financial regulatory initiatives and current developments in the European Union. Nicolas Véron has authored and co-authored numerous policy papers on matters that include banking supervision and crisis management, financial reporting, the Eurozone policy framework, and economic nationalism. He participated as expert in committees of the European Parliament, national parliaments in EU member states, and US Congress. In addition, Nicolas Véron is an independent non-executive board member at the Trade Repository arm of DTCC.